Graduate Studies Program

WINNIPEG, MB – University of Winnipeg President & Vice-Chancellor Dr. Lloyd Axworthy today announced the establishment of two new graduate fellowships in the history of Mennonite society and culture.

“With these Fellowships, the University’s Mennonite Studies program will expand its involvement with MA and PhD students and will be better able to promote the research and dissemination of knowledge of the Mennonite experience in North America,” said Dr. Royden Loewen, Chair in Mennonite Studies at The University of Winnipeg.

The Chair in Mennonite Studies at The University of Winnipeg was founded in 1978 by generous contributions from the David and Elisabeth Friesen Foundation and the Secretary of State for Multiculturalism. The purpose of the Chair is to promote the study of Mennonites at a public university, to note the contributions of Mennonites to modern society, and to examine the Mennonite understanding of religious faith, community, peace and culture. A well-funded graduate studies program will enhance the Chair’s original objectives.

The founding of the two Fellowships also corresponds with the commitment of the Chair in Mennonite Studies to promote graduate studies in Mennonite History at a public institution in a spirit of openness and excellence.

About the New Fellowships

Eligibility Criteria

Both awards are to be granted annually to promising applicants enrolled at the Masters level in The University of Winnipeg’s Joint Masters Program in History or in The University of Manitoba’s Doctoral Program in History. Successful applicants will write a thesis or dissertation on any aspect of North American Mennonite History and will be supervised by the Chair in Mennonite Studies at The University of Winnipeg.

All selections will be made by a committee of university professors who will evaluate the merit of the proposal and its potential to broaden the knowledge of the Mennonite experience in North America. The committee will also evaluate the candidate’s research background in related areas, the likelihood that the project can be completed within the proposed budget and the candidate’s willingness to share results with the community in public lectures and in other forms.

The D.F. Plett awards are renewable for one year, but may not be held in conjunction with any other award.

The C.P. Loewen award is a one-time award, but it may be held in conjunction with other awards such as the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) award.

Applicants should apply for these Fellowships for the 2007-2008 academic year upon application to The University of Winnipeg Joint Masters Program or the University of Manitoba Doctoral Program in History.

To apply to the Joint Masters Program at the University of Winnipeg see:
To apply to the Doctoral Program at the University of Manitoba see:

Located in the heart of downtown, The University of Winnipeg is a compact, diverse, multi-cultural academic community committed to access and excellence. Home to more than 9,200 full- and part-time students, UWinnipeg has been ranked by our graduates in the Top-10 of all Canadian universities when asked about their “Entire Educational Experience” (Maclean’s Graduate Survey, June 2006). The Globe & Mail Report Card 2006 gives the University of Winnipeg an overall “A” grade in the areas of quality of education, teaching quality, class sizes, faculty-student interaction and the availability of faculty outside of classroom hours. Find out why. Visit


Royden Loewen
Chair in Mennonite Studies
University of Winnipeg

Phone. 204.786.9391

Ilana Simon
Communications Officer
University of Winnipeg

Phone: 204.786.9930
Cell: 204.782.3279